It’s Beef!

katie text

I was simultaneously gritting my teeth and smiling as I sent this text to my friend Katie tonight.

I’m so good at doing my own thing, and I’ve been so unshakably independent for so long, when my feathers get ruffled it’s nothing for me to split and go off on my own for a bit.

I’ve learned so much through blogging and in conversations about relationships, and I know that to make the one I’m in work, I have no choice but to dismiss the urge to split over something super petty or insignificant. And when it comes down to it, I don’t want to go away. I just need a minute to catch a breath.

My new love is great at pushing my buttons intentionally when I’m in a funk. It’s out of love and mischief, and it makes me laugh every time…only after making me want to open the car door and jump out while we’re riding on the freeway together.

I won’t act like I don’t do the exact same thing back. It’s actually one of the reasons we work so well together. We both are artists. We both have clear and defined emotions rather than blandly consistent dispositions.

If I had typed this blog earlier tonight, it would’ve been a (hilarious) pissy rant.

Instead, I’m laughing right now as I type this. And I look up at his face and I want to give him a hug.

I probably already posted this song five years ago, but it’s in my head tonight.

So, you’re welcome.

***Update***

It was my turn a half hour ago. And he verbally mumbled “Annnnnd there it is. She begins to annoy me.”

But he still was asking to hold my hand, so no one is jumping ship.

And: It’s still funny.

 

Leave a Reply

